Cloud service Openshift

Openshift logo

I know a few hosting providers with free account and python availability. It is Google App Engine and Alwaysdata. But recently i found great project Openshift from RedHat and this blog site is working on it. Let me describe mentioned hostings first.

Google app engine

The main trouble of google app engine - limited amount of python libraries. Of course, you can use pure python libs, but you can't setup libs that requires C compilation. For example, pycurl library can't be used. Also GAE uses special data bases, so libs to work with them are also special. Therefore starting of django application is not trivial, because django works with SQL databases. In additional, django can be used only with version 1.2, 1.3 (while 1.4 currently avaliable). Anyway, here some useful links: list of avaliable libraries, django-rocket-engine project.

Alwaysdata

With free account you can't setup libraries, that requires C compilation. But here we have familiar data bases - mysql, postgres, mongodb. So usual django application can be started easily. I often use this hosting to demonstrate simple projects.

Openshift

Openshift - it is PaaS, i.e. platform as a service. We don't have root access to operating system. The system is provided to us by service in a working state, and we can make only limited amount of actions on it. It is similiar to google app engine, but here we have much more freedom.

First of all it is great, that many things can be installed manually. Any version of python, django. If you want SQL/Postgres/mongodb as data base - you are welcome. You can setup libraries and compile them. There are additional cool things: cron, statistics, phpmyadmin and etc. I've mentioned django, but it is possible to use any framework, it just what i've tried.

Handy style of deploying appliction on server. Just type git push special_application_url from you git-repository and thats it! Files automaticly refreshes on server and server restarts. Process of restarting can be managed by special scripts. For example, you can tell the script to setup necessary libraries from requirements.txt, compile static files (manage.py collectstatic) and so on. This script will be runned at every server restart.

For free account it is available 1 Gb of disc space and 3 small 'gears'. As I understand, gear - it is some isolated environment with its RAM. For a small gear size of RAM is equal to 512. If power of one gear is not enough, then second is started, then third and so on. To keep it simple, here is example of load, that simple DLE site can process (from openshift description):

15 pages/second, Hundreds of articles, 50k visitors per month. For a simple site it is quite enough.

For one account you can create 3 applications (at least for free). Of course, there is possibility, that this freebie will end at some time. But existing code you can always run at other hosting - it doesn't have special featers as GAE does. Finally you can buy payment account at openshift.

On openshift site it is described in detail, how to start application. I will describe my experience.

Steps to start python 2.7.3 + django application:

That it! Application is available at http://<app_name>-<namespace>.rhcloud.com/

Link to domain

Well, not quite yet. It will be nice to have normal address... Suppose we have domain (for example lexev.org). Lets link our application to that domain.

Openshift doesn't have DNS servers, that can be set for domain. Instead of it Openshift sujest to use CNAME. It can be done in domain management page.

That all nice, but i've bought my domain at nic.ru. To create CNAME record there i must buy additional access... But, as it turned out, there is way out! Let's use free service http://freedns.afraid.org.

So,

  • register at freedns.afraid.org
  • set DNS servers for domain:

    ns1.afraid.org
    ns2.afraid.org
    ns3.afraid.org
    ns4.afraid.org
    
  • add domain at afraid.org: http://freedns.afraid.org/domain/add.php, in my case it is lexev.org. Don't forget to select Shared State: Private, or you domain will be avaliable to all users at afraid.org

  • for newly created domain add subdomen with type CNAME, as on picture (replace lexev.org to needed domain and set correct url of application at destination field):

afraid.org CNAME

  • at subdomens page we see two records: one with CNAME and one without (it is on top probably)
  • press record without CNAME
  • change nothing, but click "Forward to a URL"
  • type as on picture (again replace lexev.org to needed domain):

afraid.org Forward to a URL

  • finally the subdomens must be:

afraid.org subdomain

For now looks that all done. Some time will be needed for new DNS servers to start work with newly domain.

Request to lexev.org will be redirected to www.lexev.org. And www.lexev.org points to application at openshift.

It should be noted, that openshift also supports PHP, Ruby, Java, Node.js, Perl !

Thanks for reading and sorry for my english! :)

Published: Oct. 8, 2012

Previous: Aphorism messenger

Bookmark and Share
Comments powered by Disqus

Облачный сервис Openshift

Openshift логотип

Я знаю немного хостингов с бесплатным тарифом и с поддержкой python. Это Google App Engine и Alwaysdata. И вот недавно узнал про замечательный проект Openshift от RedHat, на котором и работает этот блог. Для начала небольшой обзор упомянутых хостингов.

Google app engine

Основной недостаток google app engine - ограниченный набор библиотек, которые можно использовать. Конечно, чисто python библиотеки можно ставить, но те, которые требуют C компиляции - нет. К примеру, не получится использовать pycurl. Так же на GAE используются особые базы данные, так что и библиотеки для работы с ними - тоже особые. Отсюда запуск приложения на django не так прост, ведь djangо работает только с SQL базами данных. Плюс django можно использовать на текущий момент только версий 1.2, 1.3 (а уже есть 1.4). На всякий случай, полезные линки: список поддерживаемых библиотек, проект django-rocket-engine.

Alwaysdata

На бесплатном тарифе от alwaysdata опять-таки нельзя устанавливать библиотеки, требующие C компиляцию. Но здесь имеются привычные базы данных - mysql, postgres, mongodb. Так что обычное django приложение можно запустить без проблем. Я часто использую этот хостинг для демонстрации несложных проектов.

Теперь непосредственно про openshift.

Openshift

Openshift - это PaaS, т.е. платформа как сервис. Мы не получаем root доступ к операционной системе. Систему нам предоставляет сервис в работающем виде, мы же можем делать только некоторые дозволенные действия. Похоже на упомянутый app engine, но здесь гораздо больше свободы.

В первую очередь мне понравилось, что там можно установить многое вручную. Какую хочешь версию python, django. Желаешь SQL/Postgres/mongodb в качестве базы данных - пожалуйста. Можно устанавливать библиотеки, компилировать их. Есть дополнительные плюшки: cron, статистика, phpmyadmin и прочее. Здесь я упомянул django, но можно сделать приложение и на другом фреймворке, просто это то, что я пробовал.

Удобный способ загрузки приложения на сервер. Просто делаешь git push special_application_url из своего git-репозитория, и все! Файлы автоматически обновляются на сервере, сервер перезапускается. Процессом перезапуска можно управлять с помощью специальных скриптов. Например, можно указать в скрипте установить нужные библиотеки из requirements.txt, собрать статические файлы (manage.py collectstatic) и т.д. Этот скрипт будет выполняться каждый раз при обновлении сервера.

В бесплатном режиме предоставляется 1 Gb дискового пространства и 3 малых 'gear'. Насколько я понял, gear - это некое изолированное окружение со своим объемом RAM. Для малой gear размер RAM равен 512. Если приложению не хватает мощности одной gear, то подключается вторая, третья и т.д. Если проще, то вот нагрузка, которую должен выдержить типовой сайт на DLE на бесплатном тарифе (из описания на openshift):

15 страниц в секунду, сотни страниц на сайте, 50к посетителей в месяц. Для простого сайта вполне достаточно.

На один аккаунт можно создать 3 приложения (по крайне мере бесплатно). Конечно, есть вероятность, что эту халяву прикроют через какое-то время. Но существующий код всегда можно будет запустить на другом хостинге - здесь нет особенностей, как на google app engine. Ну или купить платный аккаунт на openshift.

В принципе, на openshift подробно написано, что нужно сделать для создания и запуска приложения. Опишу свой опыт.

Шаги для запуска приложения на python 2.7.3 + django:

  • регистрируемся
  • устанавливаем git (если еще нет)
  • устанавливаем особую программу "rhc" (можно обойтись и без нее, но с ней удобнее), описание в разделе get-started
  • следуем инструкциям https://github.com/ehazlett/openshift-diy-py27-django (простое приложение без базы данных)
  • либо следуем инструкциям https://github.com/st4lk/lexev (приложение с mysql, собственно код этого блога)

Все! Приложение доступно по адресу http://<app_name>-<namespace>.rhcloud.com/

Привязка к домену

Но нет, не совсем все. Хотелось бы иметь нормальный адрес ... Допустим, у нас уже есть свой домен (например lexev.org). Давайте теперь привяжем наше приложение к этому домену.

У openshift нет dns серверов, которые можно было бы прописать для домена. Вместо этого они предлагают сделать привязку к домену с помощью CNAME. Это можно сделать в панели управления домена.

Эх, все бы хорошо, но я покупал домен на nic.ru. Там, чтобы сделать CNAME привязку нужен дополнительный платный доступ... Но, как оказалось, есть выход! Воспользуемся бесплатным сервисом http://freedns.afraid.org.

Итак,

  • регистрируемся на freedns.afraid.org
  • указываем DNS сервера к нашему домену:

    ns1.afraid.org
    ns2.afraid.org
    ns3.afraid.org
    ns4.afraid.org
    
  • добавляем домен на afraid.org: http://freedns.afraid.org/domain/add.php, в моем случае это lexev.org. Не забудем выбрать Shared State: Private, а то к нашему домену сможет привязаться любой пользователь afraid.org

  • для нашего вновь добавленного домена добавляем subdomen с типом CNAME, как на картинке (конечно заменяя lexev.org на нужный домен и указывая верный url приложения в поле destination):

afraid.org CNAME

  • на странице subdomen'ов видим две записи: одну с CNAME и одну без (она скорее всего сверху)
  • нажимаем на ту, которая без CNAME
  • ничего не меняя, нажимаем на "Forward to a URL"
  • вводим как на картинке (опять-таки заменяя lexev.org на нужный домен):

afraid.org Forward to a URL

  • в итоге мы должны получить такие subdomen'ы:

afraid.org subdomain

Вот теперь кажется все. Какое-то время понадобиться, чтобы новые dns серверы заработали для домена. По обращению lexev.org будет идти редирект на www.lexev.org. Ну а www.lexev.org указывает на приложение openshift.

Напоследок скажу, что openshift так же поддерживает PHP, Ruby, Java, Node.js, Perl !

Comments powered by Disqus