OAuth and django rest framework

OAuth and django rest framework

This is a well known topic, but i can't find the existing solution that will fully satisfy me. So i write it by myself :).

Assume we have a "single page" web site, that is talking with backend via REST API. Client side can be written with ember, angularjs or some like this. Backend - django rest framework (DRF). We've got a task - add social login (OAuth protocol).

How it will look like in case of simple "old-school" site? User press login, social network page is opening. Person confirms the access, resource redirects back to our web page, providing special code in redirected url. Using this code we do the login. For such process there are several existing libraries, my favourite is python-social-auth.

In case of single page site we can do the same. But, often development of frontend and backend are separated. Moreover, API can run on different subdomen, so backend can't handle redirected url.

So instead following scheme looks the most optimal. User press login, new popup window is opened with social network confirmation. User says yes, popup gets parameters from social resource, propagates them back to parent window (our frontend application). Finally, frontend sends these parameters to backend to finish login process.

Thus backend developer must implement API resource, that will take parameters from OAuth provider as input, and respond with user details as output, including session information (session id in cookies or token). Frontend will call this resource after receiving corresponding data from social network (OAuth provider).

The question is, what data it is better to send to that resource? Let's take OAuth 2.0. We have two choices: request token or access token. In first case server will need to exchange request token to access token by itself. In second case access token is already given (it was acquired by frontend). At first sight, the second approach is easier. But it has several disadvantages.

First, access token acquired by frontend have very short lifetime (couple of hours). We could save the access token in database for later usage (for example write something on user's wall). With short lifetime it will be not trivial. Second, access token will be sent by frontend to our server. It is a potential security issue. If our API is not running on HTTPS, then access token can be easily eavesdropped. This token is enough to make valid requests.

After searching for existing solutions, i've found django-rest-auth. It suggest resource, that takes access token as input. But there is no resource, that will take request token as input and do the rest of the work by itself. Also this package is built on top of django-allauth, which is not my favourite.

After summing all the things being said, i decided to write my own tool that will link django-rest-framework, python-social-auth and login resource with request token as input.

Here it is: django-rest-social-auth.

Details can be found in readme. This package is very small but useful (to my mind of course). All the customisation from python-social-auth is still available.

Live working example - site woobie.ru, where this package is used.

Published: July 18, 2015
Bookmark and Share
Comments powered by Disqus

OAuth и django rest framework

OAuth и django rest framework

Тема избитая, но мне не удалось найти готового решения, которое полностью бы меня устроило. Поэтому пишу сам :).

Итак, у нас есть "одностраничный" веб сайт, который общается с бекендом посредством REST API. Клиентская часть может быть написана с помощью ember, angularjs или чего-то подобного. Бекенд - django rest framework (DRF). И есть тривиальная задача - добавить вход через социальные сети (OAuth протокол).

Как бы это выглядело в случае обычного (олд-скульного) сайта? Пользователь нажимает логин, открывается страница социальной сети (Oauth провайдера). Человек подтверждает доступ, соц. сеть делает редирект обратно на наш сайт, передавая определенный код. Мы узнаем код из url'а и делаем логин. Для такого процесса есть несколько готовых django библиотек, мне больше всего нравится python-social-auth.

В случае одностраничного сайта можно впринципе сделать так же. Однако, часто разработка фронтенда и бекенда разделена. Более того, бывает что апи работает на другом поддомене, таким образом бекенд не может напрямую обработать редирект.

В итоге следующая схема получается наиболее оптимальной. Пользователь нажимает логин, открывается попап окно с подтверждением в соц. сети. После подтверждения попап передает параметры родительскому окну (фронтенд приложению), который в свою очередь отправляет запрос на бекенд для конечного логина.

Т.о. бекенд разработчику нужно реализовать API ресурс, на вход которого передаются параметры от OAuth провайдера, а на выходе - данные пользователя + сессия (например id сессии в куках или токен). Этот ресурс будет вызываться фронтендом.

Вопрос, какие данные лучше передавать в этот ресурс? Возьмем OAuth 2.0. Тут два варианта - либо request token, либо access token. В первом случае сервер должен будет сам обменять request token на access token. Во втором - этого делать не надо (фронтенд уже получил access token). Казалось бы, последний вариант проще. Однако у этого способа есть недостатки.

Во-первых, access token, полученный фронтенд'ом, имеет очень маленький срок жизни (несколько часов). Мы могли бы сохранить access token в базе данных и при определенных условиях обратиться к социальной сети позднее (написать что-то на стене пользователя). С коротким сроком жизни токена это делать неудобно. Во-вторых, access token будет передан фронтендом на наш апи сервер. Возникает потенциальная угроза безопасности. Если наш апи работает не по HTTPS, то access token можно легко перехватить. Этого токена достаточно, чтобы делать валидные запросы.

Поискав готовые решения для DRF, я нашел django-rest-auth. Он предлагает готовый ресурс, который получает access token. А вот готового ресурса, который получал бы request token и все остальное делал бы сам, нету. Так же этот пакет основан на библиотеке django-allauth, которая по-моему мнению не очень удобна в части OAuth регистрации.

Исходя из всего вышесказанного, я решил написать свою тулзу, которая связывала бы django-rest-framework, python-social-auth и реализовывала ресурс для логина по request token'у.

Вот она: django-rest-social-auth.

Подробности по использованию можно почитать в readme. Это довольно маленький, но удобный пакет. Вся кастомизация, доступная в python-social-auth, доступна и здесь.

Живой пример - сайт woobie.ru, там используется именно эта библиотека.

Опубликовано: Июль 18, 2015

Пред.: Tornado и pgettext

Bookmark and Share
Comments powered by Disqus